Clarice the Brave by Lisa McMann

5 stars Middle School

“It only takes 1 mouse to believe in you. And that mouse is me.”

This is a quote that Clarice’s mom heard from her father which is then passed down to Clarice.  Clarice holds onto these words as she tries to care for her brother Charlies, aboard a pirate ship.  Clarice and Charles are the only two remaining members of their family.  As mice living aboard a ship, daily life at sea, has claimed the lives of the rest of their family members. Living in fear, the brothers live in a wooden crate by the pantry, this is their home.  Clarice travels out for supplies but Charles prefers to stay securely inside the box, waiting on Clarice, the provider. 

I found myself immediately absorbed into this story as Clarice describes the world around her.  The ship was full, as the humans were filling up all the available space.  They consisted of two groups of people: the crew/captain and the prisoners.  Fighting erupts on the ship and the brothers hear the word, mutiny.  What does this word even mean?   

The brothers soon find out as Clarice finds himself in a smaller boat with some of the individuals from the ship and Special Lady. Packed with sailors, a mouse, and a cat, this boat which has been cast out into the sea, does have the captain aboard, which gave me some hope.  Meanwhile, Charles is still aboard the ship.  Charles the mouse who doesn’t like to move out his box needs to do something to stay alive without his brother.

Will the brothers ever be reunited again?  What happens to the brothers as they float out in the sea in two different vessels?  What a good adventure story, a story of friendship and family, a story that will stay with you. 

Author: sandys5

Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I'm a huge reader, reading a variety of genres from children's to horror to historical fiction. If the book captures my attention, I'll read it. I'm an active volunteer at our public library performing many different roles. I'm also a mother and a Nana to some terrific grandchildren who I now watch during the day. I love to be outside, staying busy and enjoying nature. I write reviews for all the books that I read and I post the reviews on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, BookLikes, Bloglovin', and here on WordPress. I also have a few book boards on Pinterest where I pin the book's cover. I am also a member of NetGalley. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you found something that made your day. Please stop back again, or better yet, hit the "like" button or follow me. Have a terrific day and stay positive and read!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started