The Guest by B. A. Paris

4 stars Mystery

What’s eating Gabriel?  Since finding Charlie in the quarry, Gabriel just hasn’t been the same.  While Gabriel was out running, he found the 18-year-old dying inside the quarry and now, he won’t discuss what happened.  Experiencing burnout from work, Gabriel suggested a vacation but now, Iris and Gabriel have arrived home a day early, to Laure setting up house inside their home.  Sure, she’s a good friend but wearing Iris’ clothes and rearranging their house is pushing it a bit too far.  Such a great start to this book, so many unanswered questions to pull me in.

Laure’s marriage is falling apart, so she took refuge in Iris and Gabriel’s home. Part of her story makes sense, but I felt she was really putting on a good show for parts of it.  Pierre, Laure’s husband, was a man who preferred to remain childless yet now he claims that he’s a father.  He’s got a long story behind this one so I guess you can believe what he’s saying or not, but I had my doubts.  Laure feels betrayed and she plays her role as a victim very well.  Since they are such close friends, why hasn’t Pierre reached out to Gabriel?  Deciding that Laure can continue to stay with Iris and Gabriel, the mystery begins to deepen. 

Lauren started to annoy me as she was pushing herself onto everyone around her.  She thought she was being clever and sneaky but dang, she irritated me.  As we got inside Gabriel head, the author helps us figure out what’s bothering him which leads to more mystery.  Then, there are the deaths.  Deaths everywhere.  Deaths and secrets are always an interesting and intriguing combination. With well-planned out and executed performances, for which some of them I never saw coming, it was a book that spiked my emotions. There were quite a few characters to keep track of during this story, but I liked that the author pulls the whole story together in the end and fully explains everything in the final pages. I’m a huge B.A. Paris fan as I enjoy the way she brings me into her stories and the way she twists her characters up.  I don’t feel that this book was as intense as previous B.A. Paris books have been, but I enjoyed it for the characters and the mystery elements pulled me along.  4 stars

Author: sandys5

Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I'm a huge reader, reading a variety of genres from children's to horror to historical fiction. If the book captures my attention, I'll read it. I'm an active volunteer at our public library performing many different roles. I'm also a mother and a Nana to some terrific grandchildren who I now watch during the day. I love to be outside, staying busy and enjoying nature. I write reviews for all the books that I read and I post the reviews on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, BookLikes, Bloglovin', and here on WordPress. I also have a few book boards on Pinterest where I pin the book's cover. I am also a member of NetGalley. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you found something that made your day. Please stop back again, or better yet, hit the "like" button or follow me. Have a terrific day and stay positive and read!

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started