Luigi, The Spider Who Wanted to Be a Kitten by Michelle Knudsen

5 stars Children’s Picture Book

Awe, how sweet.  What a warm, loving story about a spider and a human.  Betty had always wanted a kitten so when she came across the very unusual-looking kitten in her living room she was very happy to welcome him into her home.   Naming him Luigi, she immediately set about making him comfortable, starting with a nice breakfast.   Meanwhile, the hairy, eight-legged spider knows the truth, he’s not a kitten.   Betty does such an amazing job caring for Luigi that he starts enjoying his new life and he decides that he’s going to pretend that he’s a kitten. 

He likes the meals that Betty makes, the bed that she created for him, and he likes playing and hanging out with her.   Life with Betty is good.

Had Betty lived a secluded life, this charade could have continued but Betty has company come over to the house.  Excited to share Luigi with her friends, you can imagine the reaction from her friends.   

What a cute story as Betty adopts the spider into her life.  The love and care that she gives him, and his response is sweet.  I loved how he accepted all the changes and enjoyed them so much that he wanted to adopt them.  When the other humans made an appearance, Luigi became nervous as he was worried how this would change his life and it did, but as the ending of the book shows, sometimes things work out for everyone.    5 stars

Author: sandys5

Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I'm a huge reader, reading a variety of genres from children's to horror to historical fiction. If the book captures my attention, I'll read it. I'm an active volunteer at our public library performing many different roles. I'm also a mother and a Nana to some terrific grandchildren who I now watch during the day. I love to be outside, staying busy and enjoying nature. I write reviews for all the books that I read and I post the reviews on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, BookLikes, Bloglovin', and here on WordPress. I also have a few book boards on Pinterest where I pin the book's cover. I am also a member of NetGalley. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you found something that made your day. Please stop back again, or better yet, hit the "like" button or follow me. Have a terrific day and stay positive and read!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started