That Egg is Mine! by Liz Goulet Dubois

4.5 stars Children’s Reader

Whose egg, is it?  This beautiful blue egg with white spots could be either Duck’s or Cluck’s because these friends each lay eggs and they both have these beautiful blue markings on them. 

Duck and Cluck each give an account of why the egg is theirs but it’s when the egg hatches open, the friends truly find out who really owns the egg.  A big surprise for both Duck and Cluck.

It’s a combination of a graphic novel and picture book as some pages are made up of text boxes and others are not.  This makes for a great book for a young reader with simple text and large print.   The illustrations are colorful, they complement the text, and readers can reference them to tell the story.   I liked how Duck trusted Cluck to look at the egg but when Cluck took off carrying the egg, the frantic look on Duck’s face said it all.  Later, as the egg cracks open, the faces on the friends as they stare at the new baby are comical and the ending is funny.   I think this is a great book on solving problems and listening.  Thank you to NetGalley, Sourcebooks Kids and Liz Goulet Dubois for an arc copy of this book which I received in exchange for an honest opinion. 4.5 stars

Author: sandys5

Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I'm a huge reader, reading a variety of genres from children's to horror to historical fiction. If the book captures my attention, I'll read it. I'm an active volunteer at our public library performing many different roles. I'm also a mother and a Nana to some terrific grandchildren who I now watch during the day. I love to be outside, staying busy and enjoying nature. I write reviews for all the books that I read and I post the reviews on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, BookLikes, Bloglovin', and here on WordPress. I also have a few book boards on Pinterest where I pin the book's cover. I am also a member of NetGalley. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you found something that made your day. Please stop back again, or better yet, hit the "like" button or follow me. Have a terrific day and stay positive and read!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started