Walter’s Wonderful Web by Tim Hopgood

5 stars Children’s Picture Book

Walter just wants his spider webs to look just like his friends.  His webs are always wibbly-wobbly and when the wind blows, they blow away while his friends webs are perfect, and they can withstand any wind condition.   It’s not that Walter doesn’t try because boy, does he try!   Walter construct web after web, creating this shape and that shape but when the wind blows, they all come tumbling down.  Ahhh! 

Finally, Walter decides to put all of the shapes that he has created into one huge web creating a masterpiece and it’s amazing!  Circles, triangles, rectangles, squares, and diamonds are woven into this beautiful work of art, but will it be strong enough for the wind? 

What a fun, entertaining story about a determined spider and how he tries to solve his problem.   I enjoyed how he used all the different shapes to construct his webs and how he continued to create the webs until he got the right combination.   Walter is a big black spider, and you can see him smiling and his disappointment throughout the book. 

In Walter’s final masterpiece, I had my grandson try to find all the different shapes Walter incorporated which was fun.  Cute story and educational too.   5 stars 

Author: sandys5

Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog. I'm a huge reader, reading a variety of genres from children's to horror to historical fiction. If the book captures my attention, I'll read it. I'm an active volunteer at our public library performing many different roles. I'm also a mother and a Nana to some terrific grandchildren who I now watch during the day. I love to be outside, staying busy and enjoying nature. I write reviews for all the books that I read and I post the reviews on Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, BookLikes, Bloglovin', and here on WordPress. I also have a few book boards on Pinterest where I pin the book's cover. I am also a member of NetGalley. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you found something that made your day. Please stop back again, or better yet, hit the "like" button or follow me. Have a terrific day and stay positive and read!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started